HTC lost it with the One Max.

I am all for clean, simple design. That is why I love the Nexus brand, stock Android, and even why I love the hardware of iPhones.

I never really liked the HTC One’s design; the speakers cluttering the front of the display, the G-string at the back of the device. Nevertheless, the One started to grow on me. I accepted the design.

Cut to the announcement of the One Max. It just got worse.
The removable back plate makes it lose the One’s seamless, premium construction. The bezels are huge, and not black – to merge with he screen – as is on the original One.

When you turn the phone around, you’ll see a square, black hole, seemingly placed for no apparent reason. It turns out, it’s a fingerprint scanner.

Man, that scanner is hideous. And did you notice the attachment prongs starting at your face?

Man, that scanner is hideous.
And did you notice the attachment prongs starting at your face?

Yes, I said SWIPE. It’s not the kind of scanner that exists on the iPhone 5S (in which you just hold your finger). Here, you go back to the days of the Motorola Atrix, and swipe around on the scanner, trying to get it to work.

HTC One Mini, One, One Max.

HTC One Mini, One, One Max.

Of course, I have never touched the phone, but other Tech Sites report that the scanner isn’t as accurate as Apple’s.

Don’t get me stared about HTC’s Sense UI. Alright, alright. I’ll save that for another post.

What do YOU think? How do You like the One Max? Let’s Rant together.

Got something to say?

